New Blogger (& Member Relations Chief) & How to Keep Your Energy High at Annual

Hello good readers of the DMA 2012 blog!  My name is Stephanie Miller and I’m on week two of my employment at the DMA as VP of Member Relations. Someone introduced me today as the “CLO” – chief listening officer. I like that! I’m here to help you get the most out of your DMA membership, and to that end, I look forward to meeting you at Annual and listening to your experiences – good, bad and otherwise. Contact me anytime through this blog or email smiller AT the-dma DOT org..

I’ll be blogging from the show floor about great insights that I glean from members like you (so find me, tell me something fascinating, and you may see yourself quoted here – either literally or anonymously as appropriate!). I’ll also blog about the Keynote highlights and some of the sessions that I’m able to attend.

I’ve attended Annual for nearly 15 years as a marketer (I started when I was five years old, of course!) Attending as an employee will be a new thing, and an exciting opportunity to connect with members. I hope I get to speak with you and many others. You can ask for me at the DMA Village (our booth) and someone there can find me.

Annual is a wonderful experience. It’s also overwhelming. Here is my best advice. Give yourself permission to focus. Stop multi-tasking. (I mean it, no matter how blasphemous that sounds!) Put your phone and iPad aside. Listen. Absorb. Think. Consider that scientifically, we are much more productive and are more open to learn when we focus on one task at a time. Our energy reservoir is a finite resource, and by focusing on one task at a time we can use less energy to be more productive, according to the Harvard Business Review.

What we’ve lost in our frenzy of getting so much done, are the stopping points, finish lines and boundaries. Technology has blurred them beyond recognition. Wherever we go, our work follows us on our digital devices, ever insistent and intrusive. It’s like an itch we can’t resist scratching, even though scratching invariably makes it worse. So please, don’t scratch. Make this the best Annual show for you, ever. Get recharged, refresh your network and gather as many cool ideas as you can.

All that stuff at the office will still be there. But you only get one chance a year to attend Annual. Take full advantage.

Safe travels. I look forward to meeting you there!

— Stephanie Miller, VP, Member Relations, The DMA

Leave a Reply

